Kristin Garwood
 
I like the example the writer gives about being influenced by what others say on page 3.  I think we all have been there.  The awkwardness of entering in on a conversation that started before you arrived.  If you speak to soon people would just look at you like "what are you doing here?" If you speak to late or not at all, you will be left out.  The example I liked was when you see a friend at a party with a small group, you can pick up on bits and pieces and figure out what everyone is talking about.  Due to the fact that it is a friend, you should be in good shape not to feel out of place.  If you pick up on what they are saying, you can chime in with your thoughts.  Also if you are telling it to other peers the story will be a lot different than when you tell it around professors who also at the party.  You are actively involved in the conversation with peers, but this conversation at the party is pretty confusing because you have no idea what your friend is talking about.  "What changes I should Make?" is also intresting.  Being in college most professors let you pick your group.  They figure you are all adults you pick your groups.  Unless a professor is trying to make a point, they will let you pick your groups.  The one thing I don't like about group work, is that I want to earn my own grade.  I do not want to receive the same grade as a person who did not at all participate.  I want to earn my grade.  While working in a group, you have to assign rolls.  The leader-takes phone numbers, email addresses, work schedules...etc. A note taker, a joker, a helper to the leader.  You all assume rolls according to personality.  You just have to hope the joker doesn't take you to far off task.  You all do your individual work and your group will be successful.  I think we have to ask.  "Why do professors put us in groups?"  I guess we could argue the fact that they want us to be able to work in the ever so famous learning community.  They want us to be able to work coopertavily with others.  Especially at Rowan, the way a lot of the classrooms are set up, is not an effective way to work collabrativly.  I think they should have tables that can be easily moved.  The classrooms need to be bigger and maybe a seprate computer lab that you can go to.  Once you have your group, divide the tasks fairly, work on them individually, then come together and conclude the project.



Leave a Reply.